Family Vacation

January 8, 2010 at 11:40 pm Leave a comment

By the time we left for Costa Rica, I don’t know who was more stressed….myself, the hubby, or the kids.  Everyone has work to do, school and SAT’s and college exams….work and getting ready to go away, it’s just never easy.

My youngest continued to tell me how boring it will be, and how there won’t be any kids her age.  I promised her she wouldn’t be bored.  Not on this trip.

My husband and I were in Costa Rica about 10 yrs ago on a business trip of his…and we had a blast.  The fishing, the jet skis, the excitment of zipping through the jungle, and our kids are old enough to enjoy.  So this is the trip I planned.

We arrived in San Jose, but late as our plane was “broken” and we were stuck in Atlanta for a while.  But our adventure began as soon as we checked into the very gorgeous Bianca Rosa (where the driver who brought us had to wake someone up to let us in).  My kids were in their room a flight down and I thought that I heard them yelling.  My husband said he would go and check to make sure they were alright.  After a minute (still hearing noise) I went to the door of my room to listen and I heard “spider”, so I laughed.  Let’s face it…I have three daughters.  If it crawls, they scream.  I decided to let my husband handle and I chuckled as I got ready for bed.  It took a few minutes for him to get back to our room and I laughingly said…”a spider, I heard”  and he said, “no, you don’t understand…this wasn’t a spider, this was a Central America spider!!  Think tarantula 😦   Well…he was not able to catch this big hairy spider to get it out of the room…but he was able to capture it under a glass so that my girls could safely sleep the night away.  First of course, Brit (middle daughter) checked under the bed and in all drawers for any other large creepy crawlers.  I have a feeling our spiders from home won’t cause much of a commotion  anymore.

The next day we woke early and had a wonderful breakfast among the “helicopter bugs” as we so aptly named them…as they have the ability to hover right above your head as they proceed to “poop”

And off we went to the airport for our short flight to Quepos…and then the short drive to Manuel Antonio.

We get to the airport…we’ll, the side of the airport, where there’s a very little airport with very very little planes.  Already I’m wishing we were taking the 3 1/2 hour drive instead of the 20 minute flight.  No security here, just weight restrictions.  Not only did they weigh our luggage, each of us had to get on the scale (same scale that the luggage goes on) to make sure the plane would stay in the air? 

I’ve been on small planes before, but here, my husband (Ronald) and I were practically sitting in the pilot and copilot’s lap.  I have to say it was a breathtaking ride over this incredible landscape.  A few times the plane starts saying “traffic, traffic” and then we watched as the pilot and co looked around and pointed to each other any planes that were in the vicinity.  So much for a control tower.

But the best…we are watching the GPS and I see that we are at our destination on the screen…but I’m looking and looking and asking my husband…”where’s the airport”.  And then we saw it…this tiny strip created in the jungle.  One strip, one small building at the end to buy a soda and a plane ticket.  Amazing ride…and this was just the beginning of an awesome vacation.  The next 6 days were action packed and I will share those in the next post.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Last minute holiday shopping for toys Action Packed Holiday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


toy insider

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Rated


